Diverted attention

Chasing feathers
Around a halo
Forefeit
Like tender furr
A soft job
Because I mean
What else can you say
When a dart board
Hid magnets around its double and triple rings
Making you
Victorious
By default

If you ever
Just ever
Listened to what you heard
When your attention was elsewhere
You’d know
Just how wrong
Your own capacity to understand was

The work of a slave
Basic human rights
A silent clocktower
Only screaming to the mutes

There is fault found in the same mud
We swum in when we slithered
Past the pure and past the river
I saw land and sky in
Everything
But my own self

Published by

S.K.

This right here, keeps me sane. You will find here, sincere thoughts mixed up with a subconscious trying to fuck it all up. I hope you understand.

9 thoughts on “Diverted attention”

  1. Sadia, very nice poem here. I love the darts metaphor, but my favorite lines: “a silent clocktower / only screaming to the mutes” — beautiful. And hey, I like your blog theme too (I use Libretto as well, so it’s nice to see how someone else’s layout looks using the template — and I like!). :)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey! Apologies for the late reply. I hadn’t seen this comment before. Thank you so much, I went back to my original theme because I felt it resonated better with my taste. Love the way you pick out your favourite line/metaphor, makes it all the way more meaningful. Bless. See you around.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Mrs Roroetsbn you crack me up I work nights and listen to you on Sirius and xm radio and I aint never laughed so? hard in all my life keep up the great work thank you so much for keeping us all laughing now a days when we need laughter the most in our life

    Like

Leave a Reply

